MCD Results: AAP Wins 5 Seats, Cong - 4, BJP - 3, Ind - 1

By: Natasha Mahesh, 2016-05-17 05:45:00.0Category:  Events
News Image

As many as 45.9% of the 6.68 lakh eligible voters exercised their franchise in the high-stake bypolls for the wards falling under three corporations — south Delhi (7), north Delhi (4) and east Delhi (2). The bypolls are being billed as a litmus test for popularity of the AAP government. Both the BJP and the Congress have exuded confidence of impressive performance at the civic hustings. The 13 wards which went to the bypolls are Quamruddin Nagar, Shalimar Bagh (North), Ballimaran, Nawada, Vikas Nagar, Matiala, Nanakpura, Munirka, Bhati, Tehkhand, Khichripur, Jhilmil and Wazirpur. The by-elections have been necessitated due to 13 councillors getting elected to Delhi Assembly in 2013 and 2015. 

Counting of votes polled during the May 15 MCD by-elections to 13 wards began at 8am at all the counting centres and Delhi State Election Commission has made necessary arrangements for it.


- AAP’s Mohd Saddiq wins from Ballimaran ward.

- Congress wins Qamaruddin Nagar ward as Ashok Bharadwaj defeats BJP’s Anil Sinha by 7000+ vote.

- Major win for Congress as Anand Kumar defeats BJP’s Vinod Kumar Binny in Khichripur ward.

- AAP’s candidate Anil Malik wins from Nanak Pura ward.

- AAP’s candidate Ramesh registers win from Matiala ward.

- AAP’s Ashok Kumar wins from Vikas Nagar ward.

- Congress registers second win as Yogita Rathee wins from Munirka ward by over 700 votes.

- Independent candidate Rajender Singh Tanwar wins from Bhati ward.

- AAP opens account as Abhishek Bidhuri wins from Tekhand ward by 1,555 votes.

- BJP’s Mahender Nagpal wins from Wazirpur ward by 3,608 votes.

- Congress’ Pankaj Luthra registers win from Jhilmil ward by over 2,400 votes.

- BJP’s BM Bhandari registers win from North Shalimar Bagh ward in Delhi Municipal bypolls.

- BJP’s Krishan Gehlot wins from Navada ward by over 4,800 votes.

Hocalwire Assignments

    Similar News